What object are you grateful for today? I am grateful for my lavalier. For those of you who don’t know what a lavalier is – it’s a small charm that is a stack of Greek letters representing your Greek organization, typically worn on a chain as a necklace.

I know what you’re thinking… wow, she’s a sorority girl. Let me guess, she has THE BEST BIG EVER. (Actually, I don’t… but that’s okay). I used to cringe at the thought of being a “sorority girl.” In my head, they all had platinum blonde hair and were armed with Daddy’s credit card and a vodka cran. I walked into Recruitment Week at Lawrence Tech and quickly learned that Greek life can be vastly different depending on the school. After a long two weeks of the girls trying to beg me, I decided to give in and accept my bid to Kappa Beta Gamma. I told my parents I’d just give it a shot. What’s the worst that could happen? If I absolutely hated it, I could drop. So I showed up in my white dress, armed with a water bottle and low self esteem.

Fast forward three years and here I am today. I have taken on various chairs within my sorority, and even used my experience within a sorority to help me get a job at a global automotive supplier. I have learned to become a leader, an individual, a scholar. I became a part of our standards board to help all the girls withhold the same standards I help myself to. I became treasurer of Order of Omega – the Greek Honor Society. I never knew how many doors being part of Greek life could open up for me. I have experience with organizing fundraising events, hosting Special Olympics dances, and being “the bad guy” when I need to tell one of my closest friends she’s on poor membership status. I’ve learned how to budget money – from holding chairs and working with a budget, and from budgeting my own income to pay for my dues (since I didn’t have Daddy’s credit card).

I was always scared to use the words “sisterhood” or so call the other girls in my sorority my “sisters.” But after this group of girls helped me through the hardest break up of my life, and after they picked me up through a deep depression and didn’t judge me for being on three different medications, I realized they really were sisters. I couldn’t find this bond just anywhere.

Now, every time I wear the letters of my sorority, I explode with pride. I am representing a group of strong, smart, courageous girls, and I couldn’t be happier. Every day that I wake up and put on my lavalier, I look at myself and know that I am also one of those strong, smart, courageous girls, and it gives me that extra boost of confidence to move forward in the direction I want to continue in.

Today’s tip for positivity:
Wear your lavalier proudly

It doesn’t have to be a literal lavalier – and I know that Greek life isn’t for everybody. But, when you look in the mirror in the morning, put on your metaphorical lavalier. Whatever YOU see to be the confidence, strength, and wisdom to keep you pushing forward. Put it on, and wear it proudly.

