What smell are you grateful for today? I, as a 21 year old college student, who could say many different scents and memories, choose freshly cut grass as the scent I am grateful for. For as long as I can remember, the smell of freshly cut grass has calmed me and sent me to a happy place state of mind.

When I was young we would go to my grandparents’ cabin, and I would ride around on the lawnmower with my papa. The smell of the freshly cut grass while I was riding around in pure bliss, is a memory I will never forget. Progressing forward, I would always sit outside and read while my dad would cut the grass, relaxing and taking in the smells and sounds of nature.

I’ve found that even today, walking across my college campus, if I smell that calming scent of freshly cut grass, it sends me back to a blissful state. If you can pinpoint a specific smell, whether it’s freshly cut grass, a vanilla scented candle, or fresh washed linens, it can send a calming sensation through you, giving you that extra little boost you need to make it through the day.

Today’s tip towards positivity is:
Smell the roses

