What tradition are you most grateful for?

“Traditions and rituals often tell a story about a family. On the macro level, traditions can teach children where their family came from or give them insights into their cultural or religious history. On a more micro level, traditions can serve as reminders of events that have shaped your family and your children.”

Traditions are so much fun. They remind you of the small, or big, important things in life. Focusing on family traditions can bring everyone closer together, and bring all moods up. Traditions, when done right, lend a certain magic, spirit, and texture to a specific day or time.

Since I couldn’t narrow the tradition I’m most grateful for down to one, I’m going to write about two. I’m a cheater… I know! The first tradition is an old tradition. My dad’s side of the family is hispanic, and we are very proud of this part of us. I have loved exploring the hispanic culture since I was young, and I recently visited Spain for a month to explore further. Every Thanksgiving, instead of eating the traditional turkey and mashed potatoes, we create a beautiful feast of enchiladas, botana, Spanish rice, refried beans and guacamole. All homemade of course! (Well, besides the beans). We don’t talk to much of our family, so it’s always just my immediate family on this day. We spend all day cooking together and laughing, and when we finally eat we are so full of joy and love for our culture that it makes the experience ten times better.

The second tradition I’m grateful for is pretty new. It’s only been in the works for three years (going on four), since I’ve been away at college. On Christmas morning, while we open presents, my mom, dad, sister and I all enjoy MIMOSAS. First of all, who doesn’t love mimosas? It’s just a fun little new tradition we’ve started that we all get so excited for. It’s such a great start to the day, and makes our family feel extra close in the morning. Each year, a different one of us has said the toast for the first drink, going in age order. This year is finally my year! It’s so much fun to relax and cherish each other over some mimosas.

Traditions are easy to start and so much fun to continue.

Today’s tip towards positivity is:
Start a new tradition

Think about something you would love to do and look forward to every year, or maybe even every month. Whether it’s a little ritual you do yourself, or something you get your entire family involved in, traditions create a magic moment!

